SKIP NAVIGATION - Office Of The Ombudsman, Hong Kong

News & Resources

< Back to News & Resources

Press Releases

Ombudsman plays bridging role

13 July 2022

The Ombudsman, Ms Winnie Chiu, presented to the public today (13 July) the 2021-22 Annual Report of her Office, emphasising its role as a bridge between the public and public organisations.

 

Ms Chiu said, “We can’t overstate the importance of having an independent channel for complaints about maladministration in an open and free society, especially during difficult times. Our Office is proud to take on this role. We listen to all parties to the complaint, and try to understand issues from their perspectives. The overarching goal has always been improving the public administration in Hong Kong through recommendations tendered after impartial investigations and objective analysis.”

 

In the reporting year, the Office received 4,934 complaints and 8,851 enquiries. After discounting 140 topical complaints, 4,794 were normal cases, which represented a slight increase over the previous year’s figure. “Our Office continues to adapt its operation to the new normal under the impacts of COVID-19. With enhanced IT capacity, we have mitigated the impact of special work arrangements on our output, maintaining our accessibility and responsiveness to the public,” Ms Chiu said.

 

Including those brought forward from the preceding year, 5,032 cases were processed. Of these, 2,739 were pursued and concluded while the rest (2,293) were closed after assessment due to insufficient grounds to pursue the complaint (1,171 or 51.1%) or jurisdictional or legal restrictions (1,122 or 48.9%).

 

Among the 2,739 concluded cases, 206 (7.5%) were related to COVID-19, where the key matters under complaint included the granting of subsidies, quarantine arrangements and documents, and disruptions to public services.

 

In the year, the Office conducted 92 full investigations into complaints about maladministration and found 49 (53.3%) of them substantiated, partially substantiated or unsubstantiated but with other inadequacies found. Among the 2,432 inquiry cases concluded, inadequacies were found in 399 (16.4%). Meanwhile, the Office completed eight direct investigations.

 

During the year, the Office made a total of 139 recommendations upon completion of its full investigations and direct investigations. Of these, a total of 132 (95%) were accepted by the organisations for implementation while six (5%) were under consideration as at 30 June. Only one was not accepted.

 

The Office continued to get encouraging results on mediation, with 215 out of the 217 mediation cases successfully mediated. In the year, it took about 13.4 days on average to conclude a complaint by way of mediation, and over 54% and 92% were resolved within 10 days and less than one month respectively.

 

The Office received a total of 87 complaints about the Code on Access to Information (ATI) during the year. Among the 93 ATI complaints concluded, inadequacies were found in 30 cases (32%).

 

The full text of the Annual Report can be viewed or downloaded from the Office of The Ombudsman website.

 

Office of The Ombudsman

 

For media enquiries, please contact the External Relations Section at enquiry@ombudsman.hk.

Annual-Report-image_PR

跳过导航栏 - 香港申诉专员公署

新闻及资源

< 返回 新闻及资源

新闻稿

申诉专员担当桥梁的角色

2022年7月13日

申诉专员赵慧贤今日(7月13日)发表2021/22年度申诉专员年报,强调公署在市民与公营机构之间担当桥梁的角色。

赵慧贤说:「在困难逆境中,市民就行政失当有独立的申诉途径对一个自由开放的社会尤为重要。公署有幸担当这个角色。我们细心聆听投诉所涉各方的申述,尝试易地而处,从当事人的角度了解事情。公署坚定不移的目标是要在持平调查及客观分析后提出建议,使香港的公共行政日趋完善。」

在报告年度内,公署接获共4,934宗投诉及8,851宗查询。撇除140宗同类主题投诉后,接获的一般投诉共4,794宗,较上一年度略有增加。赵慧贤表示:「我们不断调整运作模式以适应疫情下的新常态。公署已提升资讯科技系统,以减低特别工作安排对运作效能的影响,以及让市民可持续接触公署和获得回应。」

连同由上一年度转入的投诉,公署于年度内完成处理共5,032宗投诉个案,当中2,739宗已跟进并终结,其余2,293宗经评审后已经终结,包括投诉缺乏充分理据(1,171宗或51.1%),或受公署职权范围或受《申诉专员条例》所限(1,122宗或48.9%)。

在已跟进并终结的2,739宗个案中,有206宗(7.5%)是与2019冠状病毒病疫情有关,主要涉及的问题包括补贴的审批、检疫安排和文件,以及公共服务暂停等。

在年度内,公署以全面调查方式终结92宗有关行政失当的投诉个案,当中49宗(占53.3%)的结论是「成立」、「部分成立」或「投诉不成立,但机构另有缺失」。以查讯方式终结的个案有2,432宗,公署在其中399宗(占16.4%)发现所涉部门/机构有缺失或不足之处。此外,公署在年度内完成八项主动调查。

公署在年度内完成全面调查及主动调查后,提出合共139项建议。截至6月30日,有共132项建议(占95%)已获所涉部门及机构接纳并同意落实,其余的建议(占5%)有六项尚在考虑中,只有一项不获接纳。

公署在调解工作继续取得令人鼓舞的成绩。在217宗以调解方式处理的个案中,有215宗获成功调解。年度内,每宗调解个案的平均处理时间约13.4天;成功调解的个案中,分别有逾54%及逾92%在十天内及少于一个月内终结。

公署在年度内接获涉及《公开资料守则》的投诉个案共有87宗。在已终结的93宗涉及公开资料的个案中,公署发现当中30宗(占32%)有不足之处。

年报全文可于申诉专员公署网站浏览或下载。

申诉专员公署

传媒如有查询,请电邮至enquiry@ombudsman.hk与外务组联络。

Annual-Report-image_PR