SKIP NAVIGATION - Office Of The Ombudsman, Hong Kong

News & Resources

< Back to News & Resources

Press Releases

Ombudsman investigates each case impartially as independent watchdog of departments

8 July 2022

In response to media enquiries, the Office of The Ombudsman issued the following statement today (8 July):

 

The Ombudsman, Ms Winnie Chiu, noted media reports about queries raised at a meeting of the United Nations Human Rights Committee on 7 July as to whether the Office has sufficient power and independence to monitor maladministration by government departments. In the queries, it was said that, in certain cases where the Hong Kong Police Force (HKPF) had refused the public’s requests for information, the Office held that the HKPF was not in breach of the Code on Access to Information, and that some departments had refused to act upon the Office’s recommendations.

 

Ms Chiu stressed that the Office independently exercises the powers under The Ombudsman Ordinance (Cap. 397) to investigate complaints about maladministration by government departments and public bodies with a view to enhancing the quality and standard of public administration. One of the Office’s functions is investigating cases about non-compliance with the Code by government departments (including the HKPF), but it is precluded from pursuing other complaints against the HKPF unrelated to the Code.

 

Upon completion of its investigations, the Office will make recommendations to the departments concerned for improvement based on its findings and monitor the progress of their implementation. In 2021-22, the Office made a total of 139 recommendations upon completion of its investigations. As at 30 June, 132 (95 per cent) of these had been accepted by the departments for implementation while six (5 per cent) were under consideration. Only one was not accepted.

 

The Office has stringently applied the provisions of the Code to scrutinise impartially each complaint case involving non-compliance with the Code by departments. The Office conducts objective analysis based on the finding of facts, and spells out its conclusions and justifications clearly in the investigation reports. The investigation reports of some Code-related cases of significant public interest are available on the Office’s website for public viewing.

 

Office of The Ombudsman

 

For media enquiries, please contact the External Relations Section at enquiry@ombudsman.hk.

跳过导航栏 - 香港申诉专员公署

新闻及资源

< 返回 新闻及资源

新闻稿

申诉专员持平调查每宗个案 独立行使监察部门的权力

2022年7月8日

申诉专员公署今日(7月8日)就传媒的查询,作出以下回应:

 

申诉专员赵慧贤留意到有报道指,在7月7日的联合国人权事务委员会会议上,有人质疑公署缺乏权力及独立性,无法监察政府部门行政失当,例如在一些香港警务处(警务处)拒绝市民索取资料要求的个案中,认为该处没有违反《公开资料守则》(《守则》),以及有部门拒绝执行公署的建议。

 

赵慧贤强调,公署独立行使《申诉专员条例》(第397章)赋予的权力调查有关政府部门和公营机构行政失当的投诉,藉以提高公共行政的质素和水平。公署其中一项职能,是调查政府部门(包括警务处)涉嫌违反《守则》的投诉,但公署无权跟进对警务处其他与《守则》无关的投诉。

 

在完成调查后,公署会按调查所得向所涉部门提出改善建议,并会跟进部门落实相关建议的进度。在2021/22年度,公署在完成调查后,合共提出了139项建议。截至6月30日,所涉部门已接纳并同意落实当中132项建议(占95%),其余的建议(占5%)有六项尚在考虑中,只有一项不获接纳。

 

公署一向严格根据《守则》的条文持平地审理每宗对部门涉嫌违反《守则》的投诉,按调查所得的事实作客观分析,并会在调查报告清晰阐述结论和理据。公署已将一些与《守则》有关且公众较为关注的个案的调查报告上载至公署网页供公众参阅。

 

申诉专员公署

 

传媒如有查询,请电邮至enquiry@ombudsman.hk与外务组联络。