SKIP NAVIGATION - Office Of The Ombudsman, Hong Kong

News & Resources

< Back to News & Resources

Events

Office of The Ombudsman holds seminar on electronic road pricing

21 June 2016

The Office of The Ombudsman held a seminar on electronic road pricing today (June 21) to look at the Government’s policy and measures for alleviating traffic congestion as well as details of the proposed electronic road pricing scheme. More than 60 Justices of the Peace (JPs) and Advisers of the Office attended the seminar and exchanged views with guest speakers from the Transport Department (TD) on the subject.

 

In her welcoming speech, The Ombudsman, Ms Connie Lau, said, “Traffic congestion is a big problem in many metropolitan cities, and Hong Kong is no exception. If the problem continues to worsen, it would not only cause inconvenience to the public and generate complaints, but also have an adverse impact on the economy and air quality of Hong Kong.”

 

The Transport and Housing Bureau and the TD have conducted public consultation on the electronic road pricing pilot scheme in the Central district and its adjacent areas. Under the proposed scheme, motorists would be required to pay charges when using the roads in the charging areas during the specified times, thereby reducing vehicular flows and alleviating the congestion problem in those areas.

 

Ms Lau said she hoped that the opinions and suggestions aired in the seminar would help the Government to formulate more appropriate transport policies and measures.

 

Each year, the Office of The Ombudsman organises seminars on various topics for its Advisers and members of the JPs Assistance Scheme. These seminars aim to enhance their understanding of the Office’s work and the responsibilities of different government departments and provide them with a platform to express their views so that they can help to promote the work of the Office through their daily contact with the public, thereby contributing to improvement in public administration and services.

 

Office of The Ombudsman
June 21, 2016

TCL_8907

跳过导航栏 - 香港申诉专员公署

新闻及资源

< 返回 新闻及资源

活动

申诉专员公署举办电子道路收费计划研讨会

2016年6月21日

申诉专员公署今日(六月二十一日)举办电子道路收费计划研讨会,以了解政府解决交通挤塞问题的政策和措施,及电子道路收费计划的建议内容,逾60位太平绅士及公署顾问参与研讨会,与运输署代表就课题讨论及交换意见。

 

申诉专员刘燕卿在会上致辞时说:「很多大城市都面对交通挤塞的问题,香港亦不例外。倘若交通挤塞问题恶化,不单会令市民不便,衍生投诉,亦会对香港的经济及空气质素造成不良影响。」

 

运输及房屋局和运输署早前就电子道路收费先导计划向公众进行咨询,建议在中环及邻近地区推行先导计划,驾驶者在指定时间使用收费区道路需要缴费,藉以减少这些地区的车辆流量,纾缓塞车的情况。

 

刘燕卿期望研讨会上所提出的意见和建议,有助政府当局制订更适切的交通运输政策和措施。

 

申诉专员公署每年均会为公署的顾问和参与公署协助推广计划的太平绅士举办专题研讨会,让他们进一步了解不同政府部门及公署的工作,从而给予意见及在日常接触市民大众时,更好地协助推广公署的工作,使本港的公共服务及公共行政更趋完善。

 

申诉专员公署
二〇一六年六月二十一日

TCL_8907