SKIP NAVIGATION - Office Of The Ombudsman, Hong Kong

News & Resources

< Back to News & Resources

Press Releases

Office of The Ombudsman announces results of direct investigation into problem of alleged illegal operation of kaito ferry service

1 September 2022

The Ombudsman, Ms Winnie Chiu, today (1 September) announced at a press conference the completion of a direct investigation into the problem of alleged illegal operation of kaito ferry service, and made 10 recommendations for improvement to the Marine Department (MD) and the Transport Department (TD).

 

In general, kaito service is the mode of point-to-point marine transport charging passengers separate fares for commuting to and from remote destinations in Hong Kong that are largely inaccessible by roads.  Operators are required to apply for kaito ferry service licences from the TD and provide the service with specified vessels.

 

Investigation by the Office of The Ombudsman revealed the prevalence of illegal kaito service.  However, there is currently no government department dedicated to monitoring the issue of unlicensed kaito service.  While the MD monitors the carriage of passengers by local vessels, its patrols were found to be ineffective in deterring such irregularities.  The MD has also failed to adequately clarify the meaning and restriction of using Class IV pleasure vessels for prescribed purposes. Meanwhile, the TD has not implemented effective measures to assist the public to identify unlicensed or illegal kaito service.

 

Ms Chiu said, “In recent years, excursions to the outlying islands and remote local spots have become popular pastimes of the public.  Given the thriving demand for kaito service, it is incumbent upon the authorities to step up monitoring of kaito service and curbing illegal carriage of passengers so as to ensure public safety.”

 

The Office has made 10 recommendations for improvement to the MD and the TD, which include:

 

  • The MD to conduct more frequent patrols and decoy operations, as well as draw up guidelines on the inspection of vessels to enhance deterrence against irregularities;
  • The MD to explain clearly the restriction of using Class IV vessels “exclusively for pleasure purposes” to assist the public to identify illegal carriage of passengers by vessels.  The TD to elaborate on the elements of marine transport that constitute kaito service requiring such a licence, and step up publicity to assist the public in easy identification of licensed kaito ferries;
  • The TD to assess the supply and demand of licensed kaito routes and their service standard, and implement measures for monitoring illegal operation of kaito service to ensure prompt referral of suspected irregularities to the Police for further action; and
  • The MD to step up publicity to raise awareness of passenger safety on chartered pleasure vessels and kaito ferries.

 

 

The MD and the TD have in general accepted all of the Office’s recommendations.

 

The full investigation report has been uploaded to the website of the Office of The Ombudsman for public information.

 

Office of The Ombudsman

 

 

For media enquiries, please contact the External Relations Section by email at enquiry@ombudsman.hk.

DI453 press photo_website

跳过导航栏 - 香港申诉专员公署

新闻及资源

< 返回 新闻及资源

新闻稿

申诉专员公署公布就「船只涉嫌违规经营街渡服务的问题」的主动调查报告

2022年9月1日

申诉专员赵慧贤今日(9月1日)在新闻发布会宣布完成对船只涉嫌违规经营街渡服务的问题的主动调查,并向海事处和运输署提出共10项改善建议。

 

街渡服务通常指向乘客收取个别船费而提供的点对点水路运输服务,往返本地较偏远及一般不能经由陆路到达的地点。营办商须向运输署申领街渡渡轮服务牌照,并以指明的船只提供相关的街渡客运服务。

 

申诉专员公署的调查发现,违规街渡服务的情况普遍。然而,现时并无政府部门专责监察无牌街渡问题。海事处虽然监管本地船只载客活动,但其巡查往往未能有效打击相关违规行为;而该处就有关第IV类别游乐船只之用途定义和规限的解说不足。此外,运输署亦缺乏有效协助公众辨识无牌或违规街渡服务的措施。

 

赵慧贤表示:「前往离岛或本地较遍远地点游览已成为市民近年的热门消闲活动之一,公众对街渡服务的需求越趋殷切,当局应加强监管街渡服务,打击违规的街渡载客活动,以保障公众安全。」

 

公署向海事处和运输署提出共10项改善建议,其中包括:

 

  • 海事处更频密进行巡查及「放蛇」行动,制定截查船只指引,以提升打击船只违规活动的成效;
  • 为协助公众辨识违规船只载客活动,海事处更清晰说明有关第IV类别船只「纯为游乐用途而使用」的规限,以及运输署说明涵盖哪些元素的海上客运服务需视为街渡服务及申领相关牌照,以及加强宣传以协助市民便捷地辨别领牌街渡船只;
  • 运输署评估领牌街渡服务的供求状况和服务水平,采取措施以监察违规经营街渡服务,确保涉嫌违规的个案尽快获转介至警务处作跟进;以及
  • 海事处加强宣传以提高公众乘搭出租游乐船只及街渡时的安全意识。

 

海事处和运输署大致接纳公署提出的改善建议。

 

调查报告已上载至申诉专员公署网页供公众参阅。

 

申诉专员公署

 

 

传媒如有查询,请电邮至enquiry@ombudsman.hk与外务组联络。

DI453 press photo_website