SKIP NAVIGATION - Office Of The Ombudsman, Hong Kong

News & Resources

< Back to News & Resources

Press Releases

Ombudsman probes effectiveness of 1823 in handling complaints and enquiries

28 July 2022

The Ombudsman, Ms Winnie Chiu, today (28 July) announced the launch of a direct investigation to examine the effectiveness of 1823, managed by the Efficiency Office (EO), in handling complaints and enquiries.

 

1823 provides a one-stop service round the clock to answer public enquiries for 23 participating departments and to receive complaints, suggestions and compliments about any area of government services.

 

Between January and May 2022, the Office of The Ombudsman received many complaints against 1823 for failing to answer phone calls and suspending the processing of written enquiries and complaints. It resulted in a lack of avenue for the public to seek help. The Office noted that, in response to a question by a Legislative Council Member on 15 June, the Government admitted that with the impact of the fifth wave of COVID-19 the call volume of 1823 had occasionally exceeded its system capacity. Particularly between March and May, 63% of calls were busied out by the system. In such cases, the callers could neither talk with an operator nor leave a voice message.

 

Even before the pandemic outbreak, the Office of The Ombudsman had received complaints against 1823 for its delays or failure to answer phone calls. In most cases, the EO attributed such deficiencies to an influx of calls brought about by emergency incidents or the launching of new government services. Moreover, 1823’s role as a co-ordinator in handling complaint cases involving multiple departments is often called into question.

 

Ms Chiu said, “Over the past two decades, 1823 has established itself as the major contact point for the public to raise enquiries and complaints with the Government. If 1823 is not operating effectively or part of its service is interrupted, it will not only cause inconvenience to the public, but will also impede departments’ daily work in handling public enquiries and complaints. Moreover, by collecting views on government services from the public through 1823, departments can keep track of the community’s concerns in their daily lives. Hence, the effective functioning of 1823 is crucial for the Government to promote good governance and enhance the efficiency and quality of public administration. I, therefore, have decided to initiate this direct investigation to examine the effectiveness of 1823 in handling complaints and enquiries, including its mechanism for handling cross-departmental complaints, and will make recommendations for improvement where necessary.”

 

The Ombudsman welcomes views from members of the public on this topic. Written submissions should reach the Office of The Ombudsman by 29 August 2022:

 

Address: 30/F, China Merchants Tower, Shun Tak Centre, 168–200 Connaught Road Central, Hong Kong
Fax: 2882 8149
Email: complaints@ombudsman.hk

 

Office of The Ombudsman

 

For media enquiries, please contact the External Relations Section at enquiry@ombudsman.hk.

DI461_EN

跳过导航栏 - 香港申诉专员公署

新闻及资源

< 返回 新闻及资源

新闻稿

申诉专员主动调查1823处理投诉及查询的成效

2022年7月28日

申诉专员赵慧贤今日(7月28日)宣布展开主动调查,审研效率促进办公室(效率办)辖下1823处理投诉及查询的成效。

 

1823提供24小时一站式服务,为市民解答有关23个参与部门的服务查询,并接收市民对所有政府服务的投诉、建议和赞赏。

 

在2022年1月至5月期间,申诉专员公署接获不少投诉指1823没有接听市民的电话,又暂停处理书面查询及投诉,令市民求助无门。公署留意到,政府于6月15日答复立法会议员提问时亦承认,受2019冠状病毒病第五波疫情影响,1823的来电量有时会超出系统上限,其中在3月至5月,有63%的来电被系统断线,即致电的市民未能与1823的职员对话或留言。

 

公署在疫情前也接获市民投诉指1823迟迟甚至没有接听电话。当时效率办表示因有突发事件或部门推出新服务,令求助或查询电话急增,以致1823一时间未能应付。另外,就处理涉及多个部门的投诉个案,1823的协调角色不时受到质疑。

 

赵慧贤表示:「1823成立超过20年,现已成为市民向政府提出查询及投诉的主要联络点。若1823未能有效运作或部分服务间歇停顿,不单会对市民造成不便,也会影响到部门日常处理公众查询及投诉的工作。而且,政府透过1823接收市民对政府服务的意见,可让部门紧贴市民日常的关注,故1823能够有效发挥作用,是促进政府良好管治及提升公共行政效率和质素的重要一环。因此,我决定展开主动调查,审研1823处理投诉及查询的成效,包括处理涉及跨部门投诉的机制,以及在有需要时提出改善建议。」

 

申诉专员欢迎市民就上述课题提出意见。请于2022年8月29日或之前以书面把意见送达申诉专员公署:

 

地址:香港干诺道中168-200号信德中心招商局大厦30楼
传真:2882 8149
电邮:complaints@ombudsman.hk

 

申诉专员公署

 

传媒如有查询,请电邮至enquiry@ombudsman.hk与外务组联络。

DI461