SKIP NAVIGATION - Office Of The Ombudsman, Hong Kong

News & Resources

< Back to News & Resources

Press Releases

Ombudsman probes handling of complaints involving trees on Government land

6 October 2022

The Ombudsman, Ms Winnie Chiu, today (6 October) announced the launch of a direct investigation to examine the Government’s handling of complaints involving trees on Government land.

 

There are vast numbers of trees throughout the territory. Currently, the Government adopts an integrated approach for managing trees on Government land, under which the department responsible for the maintenance of a site or facility also takes care of the trees within the area. The Tree Management Office (TMO) under the Development Bureau (DEVB) co-ordinates the tree management work of various departments with an inter-departmental mechanism in place to resolve disputes over the scope and delineation of tree management responsibilities.

 

In the past three years (between 2019 and 2021), 1823 received more than 20,000 tree-related complaints annually, including an average of around 800 cases per year with disputes over departmental purview. Each year, dozens of such cases took more than three months to complete. Meanwhile, 1823’s data shows that as at March 2022, there was a backlog of more than 2,000 tree-related complaints, 80% of which had dragged on for 90 days or longer. In the past five years, the Office of The Ombudsman also received a total of around 120 complaints regarding tree management.

 

Ms Chiu said, “Some tree-related complaints remained unresolved for too long.  If not promptly addressed, problematic trees may cause environmental nuisances or even pose potential hazards to public safety. Hence, I have decided to initiate a direct investigation to examine the Government’s handling of complaints involving trees on Government land, including whether the TMO of the DEVB has co-ordinated and supervised the departments’ complaint handling adequately and effectively, and whether there is a clear delineation of tree management responsibilities among departments. Where necessary, I will make recommendations for improvement to the Government.”

 

The Office will launch this direct investigation with the DEVB. The Ombudsman welcomes information and views from members of the public on this topic. Written submissions should reach the Office of The Ombudsman by 6 November 2022:

 

Address: 30/F, China Merchants Tower, Shun Tak Centre, 168–200 Connaught Road Central, Hong Kong
Fax: 2882 8149
Email: complaints@ombudsman.hk

 

Office of The Ombudsman

 

For media enquiries, please contact the External Relations Section at enquiry@ombudsman.hk.

跳过导航栏 - 香港申诉专员公署

新闻及资源

< 返回 新闻及资源

新闻稿

申诉专员主动调查有关政府土地上树木投诉的处理

2022年10月6日

申诉专员赵慧贤今日(10月6日)宣布展开主动调查,审研政府如何处理有关政府土地上树木的投诉。

 

全港的树木众多,分布甚广。现时,政府采用「综合管理方式」管理政府土地上的树木,由负责管理树木所在地或设施的部门,同时负责护养管理范围内的树木。发展局辖下的树木管理办事处(树木办)负责统筹及协调各部门的树木管理工作,设有跨部门机制处理有关树木管理责任和分工的争议。

 

过去三年(2019年至2021年),1823每年接获超过20,000宗有关树木的投诉,当中涉及部门权责争议的个案每年平均约800宗。在上述有争议的个案中,每年有数十宗需时超过三个月才完成跟进。另一方面,1823的资料显示,截至2022年3月,有超过2,000宗积压的树木投诉,当中百分之80延误90日或以上。过去五年,公署亦接获约120宗与树木管理相关的投诉。

 

赵慧贤表示:「部分树木投诉的处理时间冗长。若有问题的树木未获适时处理,可引致环境卫生滋扰甚至构成公共安全隐患。因此,我决定展开主动调查,审研政府如何处理有关政府土地上树木的投诉,包括发展局辖下的树木办协调及督导各部门处理树木投诉的工作是否足够及有效,以及现时各部门就树木管理的分工是否清晰,以便在有需要时向政府提出改善建议。」

 

公署会向发展局展开主动调查。申诉专员现正搜集上述课题的资料及意见。市民若有任何资料或意见,请于2022年11月6日或之前以书面方式送达申诉专员公署:

 

地址:香港干诺道中168-200号信德中心招商局大厦30楼
传真:2882 8149
电邮:complaints@ombudsman.hk

 

申诉专员公署

 

传媒如有查询,请电邮至enquiry@ombudsman.hk与外务组联络。