SKIP NAVIGATION - Office Of The Ombudsman, Hong Kong

News & Resources

< Back to News & Resources

Press Releases

Ombudsman probes Government’s regulation of occupational safety and health in construction industry

29 September 2022

The Ombudsman, Ms Winnie Chiu, today (29 September) announced the launch of a direct investigation to examine the Government’s regulation of occupational safety and health (OSH) in the construction industry.

 

The current legislation regulating OSH mainly includes the Occupational Safety and Health Ordinance, the Factories and Industrial Undertakings Ordinance, and their subsidiary regulations. On the enforcement front, the Labour Department (LD) inspects construction sites and takes regulatory actions to curb unsafe operations in the construction industry. The Buildings Department (BD) may, pursuant to the Buildings Ordinance, reject contractors’ applications for registration or take disciplinary actions against them based on whether a contractor has been convicted of an OSH offence.

 

As regards public works of the Government, the Development Bureau (DEVB) may, in accordance with the Contractor Management Handbook, take regulatory actions against contractors involved in serious incidents in works projects or against those who have violated site safety legislation. The actions can include suspending them from tendering for public works or even removing them from the lists of approved contractors. The DEVB has also put in place a tender evaluation mechanism to assess contractors’ past safety performance and accident rate in public works contracts. Contractors’ site safety performance will affect their chances of being awarded public works contracts.

 

The LD’s data shows that the construction industry recorded the largest number of fatal industrial accidents and the highest accident rate per 1,000 workers among all industries in 2021. There were 23 fatalities in total, which was a record high in the previous five years, with the number translating to a fatality rate of 0.218, which was five times that of all industries (i.e. 0.043). The accident rate per 1,000 workers in the construction industry was 29.5, nearly twice the rate of 15.2 in all industries. In May 2022, the LD submitted the Occupational Safety and Occupational Health Legislation (Miscellaneous Amendments) Bill 2022 to the Legislative Council to increase the level of penalties in OSH legislation.

 

Ms Chiu said, “Fatal industrial accidents in construction works projects have occurred frequently in recent years, which is worrying. One life lost to an industrial accident is too many. While the Government is working on legislative amendments to increase the level of penalties, it is vitally important to have appropriate measures in place to prevent such accidents. Hence, I have decided to initiate a direct investigation to examine the Government’s regulation of occupational safety and health in the construction industry. Our investigation will cover the relevant departments’ inspections and enforcement actions regarding construction sites as well as minor renovations and maintenance works; the regulation of registered safety auditors and registered safety officers; follow-up actions on incidents; publicity and education; the registration and regulation of contractors and their bidding on public works contracts, and more. Where necessary, I will make recommendations for improvement to the Government.”

 

The Office will launch this direct investigation with the LD, the BD and the DEVB. The Ombudsman welcomes information and views from members of the public on this topic. Written submissions should reach the Office of The Ombudsman by 31 October 2022:

 

Address: 30/F, China Merchants Tower, Shun Tak Centre, 168-200 Connaught Road Central, Hong Kong
Fax: 2882 8149
Email: complaints@ombudsman.hk

 

Office of The Ombudsman

 


For media enquiries, please contact the External Relations Section at enquiry@ombudsman.hk.

跳过导航栏 - 香港申诉专员公署

新闻及资源

< 返回 新闻及资源

新闻稿

申诉专员主动调查政府对建造业职业安全及健康的监管

2022年9月29日

申诉专员赵慧贤今日(9月29日)宣布展开主动调查,审研政府对建造业职业安全及健康(职安健)的监管。

 

现行规管职安健的主要法例包括:《职业安全及健康条例》、《工厂及工业经营条例》及其附属规例。在执管上,劳工处透过巡查建筑地盘及执法,遏止建造业的不安全操作。屋宇署亦可按《建筑物条例》,因应承建商违反职安健法规被定罪的情况,拒绝其注册申请或对其纪律处分。

 

就政府工务工程而言,发展局可按《承建商管理手册》,对在工程项目发生严重事故或违反工地安全法例的承建商采取规管行动,包括暂停该承建商竞投工务工程,甚至将其从认可名册除名。发展局的标书评审机制,亦会为承建商过往在工务工程的安全表现和工地意外率评分。承建商的安全表现,会影响其获批工务工程合约的机会。

 

劳工处的资料显示,在2021年,建造业的致命工业意外数目和每千名工人意外率,均是各行业之冠。前者共录得23宗,是近五年新高,以致命意外率计为0.218,是所有行业的(即0.043)五倍。其每千名工人意外率则为29.5,接近所有行业的(即15.2)两倍。为提高职安健法例的罚则,劳工处已于2022年5月向立法会提交《2022年职业安全及职业健康法例(杂项修订)条例草案》。

 

赵慧贤表示:「近年建造业工程项目,屡有致命工业意外发生,情况令人忧虑。生命无价,致命工业意外无疑是一宗也嫌多。虽然政府正着手修订法例以提升罚则,但更为关键的是做好预防工作,避免意外发生。因此,我决定展开主动调查,审研政府对建造业职业安全及健康的监管,包括有关部门就建筑地盘及小型装修维修工程的巡查及执法;对注册安全审核员及注册安全主任的监管;意外事故的跟进;宣传教育和承建商注册、规管及竞投工务工程事宜,以便有需要时向政府提出改善建议。」

 

公署会向劳工处、屋宇署和发展局展开主动调查。申诉专员现正搜集上述课题的资料及意见。市民若有任何资料或意见,请于2022年10月31日或之前以书面方式送达申诉专员公署:

 

地址:香港干诺道中168-200号信德中心招商局大厦30楼
传真:2882 8149
电邮:complaints@ombudsman.hk

 

申诉专员公署

 


传媒如有查询,请电邮至enquiry@ombudsman.hk与外务组联络。