SKIP NAVIGATION - Office Of The Ombudsman, Hong Kong

News & Resources

< Back to News & Resources

Press Releases

Office of The Ombudsman announces results of direct investigation into Effectiveness of Rodent Prevention and Control by Food and Environmental Hygiene Department

26 May 2022

The Ombudsman, Ms Winnie Chiu, today (26 May) announced the completion of a direct investigation into the effectiveness of rodent prevention and control by the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (“FEHD”), identifying three areas for improvement in the FEHD’s work on rodent surveillance, rodent prevention and disinfestation, and application of rodent-related complaint data.

 

Investigation by the Office of The Ombudsman revealed that in the existing rodent infestation surveys (RISs) undertaken by the FEHD, the percentage of census baits gnawed by rodents in designated survey locations is aggregated to assess the extensiveness of rodent infestation within each survey location. Due to the limitations in the methodology of the RISs, their results (known as the rodent infestation rate (RIR)) could only show the percentage of rodent activity range within each survey location but not the actual number of rodents or the frequency of their appearances. In addition, the RISs are merely conducted every six months. Hence, the RIR generated from the surveys may not truly reflect the current extent of rodent infestation. The Office took the view that the FEHD should consider conducting RISs more frequently each year and explore the feasibility of formulating a “composite RIR” by incorporating factors that may help assess the extent of rodent infestation in the calculation.

 

On rodent prevention and disinfestation, the FEHD has intensified its cleaning and enforcement action in two potential hotspots of rodent activities, namely public markets and rear lanes. However, inspections by the Office still found different levels of hygiene problems in individual markets and rear lanes. Therefore, the FEHD should further strengthen the education and monitoring on market stall tenants and operators of shops adjoining rear lanes, while considering the adoption of a risk-based approach to work out systematically a list of markets requiring more focused action on cleanliness and anti-rodent control.

 

Information shows that the FEHD lacked analysis in rodent-related complaint data, causing its inability to fully grasp the trend of complaints and issues of public concern. Since October 2021, the FEHD has added the function of hotspot analysis to its Complaint Management Information System for more effective deployment of manpower and resources in rodent control. The Office will follow up with the FEHD to ensure the upgraded system’s fulfilment of the expected administrative effectiveness.

 

The Ombudsman has made 11 recommendations to the FEHD for improvement. Details can be found in paragraph 6.25 of Chapter 6 of the investigation report.

 

The full investigation report has been uploaded to the website of the Office of The Ombudsman at for public viewing.

 

Office of The Ombudsman

 

For media enquiries, please contact the External Relations Section at enquiry@ombudsman.hk.

Photo-for-DI446_Official

跳过导航栏 - 香港申诉专员公署

新闻及资源

< 返回 新闻及资源

新闻稿

新闻稿 – 申诉专员公署公布就食物环境卫生署执行防治鼠患工作成效的主动调查报告

2022年5月26日

申诉专员赵慧贤今日(5月26日)公布对食物环境卫生署(食环署)执行防治鼠患工作成效的主动调查的结果,显示食环署在鼠患监察、进行防鼠和灭鼠工作,以及运用鼠患投诉数据三个范畴,均有可改善之处。

 

公署调查发现,食环署现时进行的鼠患参考指数(鼠患指数)调查,是透过统计指定监察地点监测鼠饵被老鼠咬囓的比率,评估老鼠在各监察地点的分布情况。由于鼠患指数调查的方法有限制,令指数只能显示各监察地点内老鼠活动范围的百分比,不能反映其实际数目或出现次数。此外,鼠患指数调查每半年才进行一次,容易出现数据滞后。所以,鼠患指数调查结果未必可以反映鼠患实况。公署认为,食环署应考虑增加每年进行调查的频次,以提升调查结果的时效性;亦应研究在计算鼠患指数时纳入有助评估鼠患严重程度的不同因素及制订「综合鼠患指数」的可行性。

 

防鼠灭鼠方面,食环署虽已加强公众街市及后巷两大潜在鼠患热点的清洁及执管工作,但公署在实地视察时仍发现个别街市及后巷有不同程度的环境卫生问题。因此,食环署应进一步加强对街市商贩和接连后巷的商铺经营者的教育工作及监察力度,同时考虑以「风险为本」的原则有系统地审视及拣选需要提升洁净程度及加强防治鼠患工作的街市名单,作重点跟进。

 

资料显示,食环署过往对鼠患投诉数据欠缺分析,以致未能充分掌握投诉趋势及市民关注的事项。自2021年10月起,食环署已为其投诉管理资讯系统加入热点分析功能,令食环署能更有效调配人手和资源来应对鼠患。公署会继续与食环署跟进,确保该系统可达致预期的行政效能。

 

申诉专员向食环署提出11项改善建议,详情请参阅调查报告第6章(第6.25段)。

 

调查报告已上载至申诉专员公署网页供公众参阅。

 

申诉专员公署

 

传媒如有查询,请电邮至enquiry@ombudsman.hk与外务组联络。

Photo-for-DI446_Official