SKIP NAVIGATION - Office Of The Ombudsman, Hong Kong

News & Resources

< Back to News & Resources

Press Releases

Office of The Ombudsman announces results of direct investigation into Government’s regulation of boarding facilities for foreign domestic helpers

17 February 2022

The Ombudsman, Ms Winnie Chiu, today (17 February) announced the completion of a direct investigation into the Government’s regulation of boarding facilities for foreign domestic helpers (FDHs) and made altogether 10 recommendations for improvement to the Labour Department (LD), the Home Affairs Department (HAD) and the Immigration Department (ImmD).

 

Since the 1970s, the Government has allowed the importation of FDHs into Hong Kong. As of September 2020, around 370,000 FDHs were employed in Hong Kong. Amid the COVID-19 pandemic, there has been extensive media coverage on local infection cases of FDHs, revealing an array of problems involving boarding facilities for FDHs, including overcrowding, poor hygiene and suspected violations of the permitted use of the building. Given the Government’s policy to import FDHs and the large number of persons involved, it has a duty to ensure reasonable protection of their well-being, including with regard to their temporary boarding facilities.

 

The investigation by the Office of The Ombudsman has revealed that FDH boarding facilities operated by employment agencies (EAs), depending on their mode of operation, may fall outside the ambit of the Hotel and Guesthouse Accommodation Ordinance or the Bedspace Apartments Ordinance. Moreover, the demand for FDH boarding facilities is related to the time taken by the ImmD to process applications for the FDH employment visa. The Government has no systematic data on the demand and supply of FDH boarding facilities, nor is there any dedicated legislation for regulating those facilities.

 

Ms Chiu said, “We appreciate that EAs perform a social function in operating boarding facilities for FDHs in need of temporary accommodation. The purpose of regulatory measures is not to stamp out those premises, but to provide the Government with a means to ensure reasonable accommodation for FDHs employed in Hong Kong and to stipulate the standards for compliance by operators. On the issue of regulating FDH boarding facilities, the Government may candidly liaise with stakeholders to draw up a generally acceptable proposal for progressively raising the operation standards of FDH boarding facilities.”

 

The Office has made a total of 10 recommendations, among which the LD is recommended to first adopt short- and medium-term administrative measures including the following:

  • liaising with stakeholders and requesting EAs to submit information about their FDH boarding facilities (if any), thereby creating a database of FDH boarding facilities operated by EAs;
  • compiling and publishing a list of FDH boarding facilities operated by EAs for better information transparency and facilitating informed choices of FDHs, as well as fostering improvement in the sector’s operation standards by market forces;
  • revising the Code of Practice for Employment Agencies with more specific details on the relevant laws, standards and guidelines applicable to EAs engaged in FDH boarding service for their reference and compliance;
  • requiring an EA to undertake, in the application for new licence or licence renewal, that it will ensure compliance with relevant legislation and the requirements of Government departments if it provides boarding facilities for job seekers;
  • stepping up education in urging the EA sector to actively cooperate with the Government’s initiatives, and encouraging voluntary improvement of FDH boarding facilities;
  • strengthening routine collaboration between the LD and stakeholder bureaux and departments for exchanging information about the operation of FDH boarding facilities, formulating regulatory measures jointly, and making referrals as necessary; and
  • that the LD may evaluate the effectiveness of the above short- and medium-term administrative measures after implementation for a certain period; if the result is unsatisfactory, the LD should explore the feasibility of introducing a statutory regulatory regime through legislative amendments in the long run, with a view to more stringent regulation of FDH boarding facilities operated by EAs.

 

The Office also recommends that the HAD review and optimise the procedures for handling complaints about FDH boarding facilities to expedite case handling. In respect of the ImmD, the Office recommends that the department continue to review and improve its measures and efficiency in processing applications for the visa to change employers submitted by FDHs locally, and expedite the approval procedures as far as resources permit, thereby minimising the potential demand for FDH boarding facilities arising from their stay in Hong Kong pending visa approval.

 

The LD, the HAD and the ImmD have accepted all of the above recommendations.

 

The full investigation report has been uploaded to the website of the Office of The Ombudsman for public viewing.

 

Office of The Ombudsman

 

For media enquiries, please contact the External Relations Section at enquiry@ombudsman.hk.

Photo-for-DI447

跳过导航栏 - 香港申诉专员公署

新闻及资源

< 返回 新闻及资源

新闻稿

新闻稿 – 申诉专员公署公布就政府对外佣宿舍的规管的主动调查报告

2022年2月17日

申诉专员赵慧贤今日(2月17日)宣布完成就政府对外佣宿舍的规管的主动调查,并向劳工处、民政事务总署(民政总署)及入境事务处(入境处)提出共十项改善建议。

 

政府自1970年代开始准许输入外籍家庭佣工(外佣)来港工作。截至2020年9月,本港约有37万名外佣。在2019冠状病毒病疫情期间,传媒曾广泛报道有外佣在港染疫,并揭露外佣宿舍的种种问题,包括居住环境挤迫、卫生情况欠佳、涉嫌违反楼宇用途等。政府既在政策上引入外佣,且人数众多,理应有责任确保来港工作的外佣得到合理的保障,包括在供外佣暂住的宿舍方面。

 

公署调查发现,由职业介绍所经营的外佣宿舍,视乎营运模式,未必受《旅馆业条例》或《床位寓所条例》规管。此外,入境处处理外佣工作签证申请的时间与外佣入住外佣宿舍的需求有关连。政府对外佣宿舍的供求并没有掌握系统性的资料,现时亦无专属法例规管该些宿舍。

 

赵慧贤表示:「职业介绍所经营外佣宿舍,为有需要的外佣提供临时居所,有其社会功能。规管绝非为取缔外佣宿舍,而是让政府可保障来港工作的外佣有合理的居住环境,亦令经营者有例可依。在规管外佣宿舍这课题上,政府可与所有持份者坦诚洽商,制订一个各方都能接受的方案,循序渐进地提升外佣宿舍的营运水平。」

 

公署提出共十项改善建议,其中包括劳工处先以行政方式采取短、中期措施:

  • 与持份者沟通,并要求职业介绍所提供有关其营运外佣宿舍(如有)的资料,以建立由职业介绍所经营外佣宿舍的资料库;
  • 编制及公布一份职业介绍所经营的外佣宿舍名单,以加强资讯透明度,便利外佣作出知情选择,以及透过市场力量推动业界提升营运水平;
  • 修订《职业介绍所实务守则》,更具体地列出职业介绍所如经营外佣宿舍必须符合的相关法规、标准及指引等,供职业介绍所参考和遵从;
  • 要求职业介绍所在新申请或续领牌照时,声明如向求职者提供住宿设施,会确保遵从相关法例及政府部门的规定;
  • 加强教育工作,要求职业介绍所业界积极配合政府的措施,以及鼓励业界自发改善外佣宿舍的设施;
  • 加强劳工处与其他持份政策局/政府部门的恒常协作,就外佣宿舍的营运交换资讯、互助制订相应的规管措施及在有需要时作出转介;以及
  • 在上述短、中期的行政措施推行一段时间后进行检讨,如成效不彰,长远而言,劳工处可探讨透过修例引入法定规管制度,以更严谨地规管由职业介绍所经营的外佣宿舍。

 

另外,公署建议民政总署检视及优化涉及外佣宿舍投诉的处理程序,以加快处理相关个案。入境处方面,公署建议该处就外佣在港提出转换雇主的申请,继续检视及改善审批工作签证申请的措施和效率,在资源许可的情况下尽量加快审批工作,以助压缩外佣留港等候工作签证期间入住外佣宿舍的潜在需要。

 

劳工处、民政总署及入境处已接纳公署提出的所有改善建议。

 

调查报告已上载至申诉专员公署网页供公众参阅。

 

申诉专员公署

 

传媒如有查询,请电邮至enquiry@ombudsman.hk与外务组联络。

Photo-for-DI447