SKIP NAVIGATION - Office Of The Ombudsman, Hong Kong

News & Resources

< Back to News & Resources

Press Releases

Ombudsman examines Education Bureau’s monitoring of boarding sections of schools for children with intellectual disabilities

7 April 2022

The Ombudsman, Ms Winnie Chiu, today (7 April) announced the launch of a direct investigation to examine the monitoring of boarding sections of schools for children with intellectual disabilities by the Education Bureau (“EDB”).

 

There have been media reports about suspected maltreatment of students, causing injuries, by the boarding section of an EDB-aided school for children with intellectual disabilities. Such maltreatment included improper use of restraint or isolation to restrict the limb movements and mobility of the children. The incident has raised public concern over the adequacy of Government measures to protect the welfare of children with intellectual disabilities boarding at schools and monitor the quality of service provided by the boarding sections of such schools.

 

The Office of The Ombudsman has found that, in the academic year 2021/22, there are in total 43 EDB-aided schools for children with intellectual disabilities, 16 of which have boarding sections subvented by the EDB to cater for students with moderate to severe intellectual disabilities who need boarding service. Unlike residential care homes for persons with disabilities, the boarding sections of aided schools for children with intellectual disabilities are establishments registered and administered by schools. Under the school-based management policy, these schools are required to manage and monitor the quality and effectiveness of each area of their work including the boarding service while the EDB regulates different aspects of schools and their boarding sections to ensure that school management and operation are in compliance with relevant legislation and the EDB’s guidelines including the Practice Guide for Special Schools on Planning and Managing Boarding Service issued in September 2021.

 

Ms Chiu said, “It is our duty in society to protect and support children with disabilities. Children living in boarding sections of aided schools for children with intellectual disabilities are those with moderate to severe intellectual disabilities. These children lack the ability for self-care, and their physical conditions and medical needs vary. Many of them are being placed at boarding sections of schools because their families could not afford to take care of them. They rely on carers in their daily and medical care. Given their inability to communicate effectively with others, they may not be able to explain their situation and discontent to their parents or others even when encountering problems in boarding sections. The Government is obliged to ensure that children living in boarding sections of schools for children with intellectual disabilities are receiving proper care and attention so as to safeguard their welfare and provide them with a safe environment that fosters healthy growth of their body and mind. Hence, we have decided to initiate this direct investigation to examine the adequacy and effectiveness of the EDB’s monitoring of the boarding sections of schools for children with intellectual disabilities.”

 

The Ombudsman now invites views from members of the public on this topic. Written submissions should reach the Office of The Ombudsman by 10 May 2022:

Address: 30/F, China Merchants Tower, Shun Tak Centre, 168-200 Connaught Road Central, Hong Kong
Fax: 2882 8149
Email: complaints@ombudsman.hk

 

Office of The Ombudsman

 

For media enquiries, please contact the External Relations Section at enquiry@ombudsman.hk

Option-3_Press-Release_EN

跳过导航栏 - 香港申诉专员公署

新闻及资源

< 返回 新闻及资源

新闻稿

新闻稿 – 申诉专员主动调查教育局对智障儿童学校宿舍部的监管

2022年4月7日

申诉专员赵慧贤今日(4月7日)宣布展开主动调查,审研教育局对智障儿童学校宿舍部的监管。

 

曾有传媒报道,某所受教育局资助的智障儿童学校宿舍部涉嫌疏忽照顾寄宿学童,包括不当地使用约束或隔离方法以限制学童的肢体或行动自由,引致有学童受伤。事件令公众关注政府是否有适切措施保障在校寄宿的智障儿童的福祉及监管智障儿童学校宿舍部的质素。

 

据公署了解,在2021/22学年,香港共有43所受教育局资助的智障儿童学校,当中16所附设由该局资助的宿舍部,提供寄宿服务予就读有关学校及有需要的中度及严重智障儿童。有别于一般的残疾人士院舍,资助智障儿童学校附设的宿舍部属于学校注册及管辖的部分,在校本管理政策下,学校须管理及监察校内各项工作(包括宿舍服务)的质素与成效,而教育局则从不同层面监管学校及其宿舍部,确保学校的管治及运作符合相关法例和该局发出的指引,包括在2021年9月发布的「特殊学校策划和管理宿舍服务实务指引」。

 

赵慧贤表示:「社会应致力保护及支援残疾儿童。寄宿于资助智障儿童学校宿舍部的儿童均属中度及严重智障,自理能力较低,他们的身体状况和医疗需要各异,并且有不少是因为家人无力照顾而被安排在学校寄宿。寄宿的智障学童的日常起居和医疗护理都倚赖他人协助,由于他们的表达能力有限,即使在宿舍内遇到问题,或许都难以向家长或其他人具体说明情况和不满。政府当局有责任确保寄宿于智障儿童学校宿舍部的儿童获得合适及妥善的照顾,以维护他们的利益,让他们在安全并有助身心健康成长的环境中生活。因此,我们决定展开这项主动调查,审研教育局对智障儿童学校宿舍部的监管是否足够及有效。」

 

申诉专员欢迎市民以书面提出意见。请于2022年5月10日或之前把意见送达申诉专员公署:

地址: 香港干诺道中168-200号信德中心招商局大厦30楼
传真: 2882 8149
电邮: complaints@ombudsman.hk

 

申诉专员公署

 

传媒如有查询,请电邮至enquiry@ombudsman.hk与外务组联络。

Option-3_Press-Release